'Delete' as in 'Leave it hidden'

Submitted by gwolf on Wed, 09/14/2005 - 09:56
I am quite happy: I found a 256MB memory stick card for ~US$60, so I just ran to buy it. Since then, I have been much more active with my camera, of course. I was baffled, though, last Sunday, when after only (!) 170 (1 megapixel) photos I got a memory stick full message. WTF? Well, we have been using Nadezhda's iMac to move the photos to our server's album - I don't like iPhoto, I prefer moving them to the destination directory. And, as the memory stick is a full RW filesystem (unlike the camera's internal memory, that can only be mounted read-only), I just told MacOS to trash them. Silly me: I assumed that having a plain old FAT filesystem, this would mean what I told it to - Nope. It just means 'create a /.Trash directory and move everything in there'. Of course, the /.Trash isn't viewable by MacOS' finder. It also stays hidden when doing a simple 'ls'. The camera does not report it, as it is outside its universe (/DCIM). Bah.
( categories: )
Mauricio's picture

RE: 'Delete' as in 'Leave it hidden'

The (dis)advantages of GUI's... Next time 'trash' them from the shell ;-)